Pre-Christmas in Cambodia

It is my second year out of Germany during pre-christmas-time. Last year I was travelling though SEA and busy with arranging my trip, sorting pics and trying not te get overwhelmed from all the new impressions every day. But this year it is different…I’m settled in Cambodia and it is still strange to me to have 30°C or more outside while the house looks like Christmas.

I was wondering how it would be like to get ready for Christmas in a mostly buddhist country. But it wasn’t a problem at all…Christmas is EVERYWHERE! No matter where you’re going to…shopping malls, restaurants, Café’s…you can see glitter and glimmer and Santa all around.

It seems to me Christmas is in between a multi-religious or better non-religious celebration all around the world and I don’t know if I like that fact. Everyone is celebrating Jesus’ birth without even knowing that this is the actual reason for it but it made my life way easier this year.

I bought different things to make my own homemade-x-mas-decoration, started to listen to christmas songs and I even found some non-baking-cookies-recipes. I didn’t make them so far but that’s my target for this week. I really miss an oven though to bake “real” cookies but maybe I’m able to do that during our time in Germany. I prepared and Advent-Wreath and an Advent-Calendar for Lawrence.

We had a women’s church service at the 1.Advent-Sunday and therefore we also decorated church for Christmas. Also in school we build up a christmas-tree and hang stars all around > “It’s beginning to look like Christmas”

My absolute highlight so far was the Potluck on our rooftop yesterday night. We gathered with friends together, sang hymns, prayed and sure we ate some yummy food. It was a great evening with a silent and meditative beginning and funny in the end. Now am looking forward to our pre-christmas-dinner with friends next weekend.

In between we need to do the last preperations for our trip tp Germany…only 10 days left and I’m really excited about going home and meet my family and friends.

All-in-all it wasn’t a big deal to get into christmas-mood at all. With nice people around and a little bit of effort it doesn’t matter if it is warm or cold outside. Now am starting to sing “I’m dreaming of a white christmas” which we most likely will have and leave you with some pictures.

Merry Christmas…Fröhliche Weihnachten

DSC_0397%

DSC_0395%

DSC_0401%

My Advent Wreath

DSC_0499%

DSC_0497%

DSC_0491%

DSC_0501%

DSC_0498%

DSC_0489%

DSC_0486%

DSC_0480%

DSC_0476%

DSC_0473%

DSC_0471%

DSC_0470%

DSC_0468%

DSC_0465%

DSC_0464%

DSC_0461%

DSC_0459%

DSC_0457%

DSC_0445%

DSC_0426%

DSC_0424%

DSC_0421%

DSC_0418%

DSC_0412%

DSC_0411%

 

 

Leave a Reply

