A long weekend in Kuala Lumpur

As I had to go to the Nigerian Embassy in KL and in Cambodia were some holidays for king’s birthday I decided quite spontaneously to travel to Malaysia for 5 days. I wanted to use the weekend for some sightseeing and Monday for the Visa Application.

Kuala Lumpur is beautiful – the old colonial architecture with a lot of islamic influence in combination with skyscrapers and the Petronas Twin Towers. I liked the mix of the people there you can see the influence of different religions everywhere. Malaysia is really different from everything I’ve seen so far from South-East Asia!

I visited the National Mosque and Masjid Jamek, went up the Petronas Towers, walked around china town and saw a chinese temple and also a hindu temple. I passed by the old train station and Medeka Square and visited the Museum of Islamic Arts. Honestly the exhibition wasn’t that interesting to me but the architecture of the building is definitely worth it to got there!

When it comes to food Kuala Lumpur is like food heaven. There’s nothing you can’t find in KL…delicious malay-food, indonesian dishes, chinese, indian, western, ….and the list goes on and on. I went with my CS-host to a little indian restaurant and had an amazing tandoori chicken for dinner – YUMMY!!

I enjoyed my time just walking around the city and sunday morning I had some nice company. Amalia, a local CS, showed me some really nice places in town.

Kuala Lumpur is a big and modern city with a great public transport system and it’s easy to get around. Beside of the sightseeing it’s a great place to do some shopping. There are huge shopping malls everywhere…my plan was to go to Kenanga wholesale store as different people recommended it to me. But in the end I couldn’t make it there as the visa application was a full day project for me.

The best place for me at all was the bookstore at KLCC Suria…I haven’t been to a “real” bookstore since I left Germany! Here in Cambodia you only can find these used book stores, well sometimes I also find really good books there but it’s huge difference if you’re surrounded by all these new books, sorted in different languages and genres…I spent there quite a long time just strolling around looking for new books, reading a couple of pages… 🙂

I’m sure it wasn’t my last time in KL and Malaysia…I’ll be back!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

